Advice and Counselling Service

Advice and Counselling Service menu

European Economic Area and Swiss students: the rules about working

European Economic Area and Swiss students: the rules about working

The number of hours and type of work you can do depends on your nationality. It is very important that you understand the rules which apply to your nationality. If you break the rules, your employment may be illegal.

We have summarised the rules below and you can also find information on the UKCISA website.

If you are a national of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden or Switzerland, you can work legally in the UK with no restriction on the number of hours or type of work you do.

Croatian nationals

From when Croatia first joined the EU, until 30 June 2018, Croatian nationals were required to register with the Home Office before they were authorised to work in the UK, apart from some exempted categories. This requirement ended on 30 June 2018. From 1 July 2018 Croatian nationals can work in the UK in line with nationals of other EU countries. 


Law, regulations and policies can change quickly. The information on our website is given in good faith and has been carefully checked but QMUL cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omissions. QMUL is not responsible for the content or reliability of the linked websites which are provided for further information.

Return to top